•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Beginner's Observation Journal

binoculars observing observing report dso
  • Please log in to reply
48 replies to this topic

#1 Hellingen

Hellingen

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Europe

Posted 21 August 2019 - 07:05 AM

Hi,

I'm starting this topic as a beginner who is trying to learn the night sky and to write down my observations as I progress hopefully.

I also hope that more experienced members (if they are reading this)  will jump to help me with my dilemmas and doubts, to give some insights and advices.

I'm also hoping that other beginners will join to share their observation and findings.

As a real beginner, I have issues with finding targets other than Jupiter and Saturn through my Dobson finderscope.

I have read many forum posts on how to look for some targets, how to recognize asterism and patterns but whenever I look through the finderscope or even binoculars I was lost. With the naked eye, I know a few constellations and asterisms.

After I finish my Jupiter session I usually try to point the telescope at some familiar star like Vega or Deneb but

I just can't identify them through the finderscope. So many bright stars around and they all look the same.

So lately, I switched from Dobson to my binoculars.  The idea was to easier locate targets in the wider FOV.

But I still have issues. Even the low power binoculars as my Leupold BX-1 8x42 show thousands of stars when I'm able to see just a few of them naked eye.
But I started noticing some progress as I started from scratch.

I dedicated a few nights just to get familiar with the constellations, looked at them naked eye trying to figure out shapes and relative positions of stars.