•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Ended up with 2 CMOS Cameras. Which for my dedicated Guidescope?

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Mvillegas

Mvillegas

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 21 August 2019 - 08:43 PM

Ended up buying a second 60mm guidescope on CN for my new Explore Scientific ED 127mm and now have 2 guidescope cameras and wondering which one is better suited for my new scope.  My original camera was the Altair GPCam2 130 and the 60mm came with a Starlight xpress costar.  The specs don't really mean that much to me yet as I am a newbie.  All I know is that the Starlight is more expensive but that isnt always a clear indicator.

The Altair specs are:

ALTAIRGP130M: APTINA AR0130 MONO CMOS sensor

• Sensor Size: 1/3" (4.8x3.6mm)
  • Exposure duration shortest/longest:
  • 0.115ms (0.000115 secs) / 800 secs 13.33mins (trigger mode)
  • 0.115ms (0.000115 secs) / 5000ms (5 secs) (video mode)
  • Bit depth: 8bit & 12bit mode switchable
  • Pixel size microns: 3.75x3.75 um
  • Resolution in pixels: 1280x960
  • Recording System: Still Picture and Video
  • Region of Interest (ROI) support: Yes, in SharpCap & AltairCapture
  • Approx. Max frame rates (assuming computer Bus and Hard Drive operating at full bandwidth)*:
  • 8 bit mode:
  • 1280x960 - 27-30fps
  • 640x480 - 55fps ROI mode
  • 320x240 - 104fps ROI mode
  • 12 bit mode - approx 50% of above.
  • * Based on average user reports. May be revised with more data. Shorter exposure durations yield faster frame rates. An expensive PC does not guarantee a fast frame rate.
  • Sensor QE / Quantum Efficiency: Approx. 78%
  • Gain Sensitivity: 6.5V/ lux-sec
  • Dynamic Range: 82dB
  • SNR Maximum: 44dB
  • Readout: Progressive Scan
  • Shutter: Electronic Rolling Shutter

And the Starlight specs are: