•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Astro-Physics 1100GTO German Equatorial Mount Question

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 extremeastrobabe

extremeastrobabe

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Arizona

Posted 25 August 2019 - 01:30 AM

Hello! 

I am very new to telescopes and have access to a wonderful telescope through my astronomy club. Our club is relatively new and thus there is no one with a lot of experience with our mount/telescope to guide us and teach us. 

We have a Celestron Edge HD 11" telescope that goes on this mount and we have noticed an issue we are having that I am trying to figure out is normal or if there is something off, such as orthogonality. 

The telescope and mount are not permanent, and are always broken down and put up every time that we use it. We set it up and polar align it with RAPAS. After that we slew to a bright star and RE-CAL on it. Now if it stays on one side of the meridian, it is fine. It will have no problem locating objects and centering on them. However when it does a meridian flip, it will then be off by about .5 degrees. Without doing another RE-CAL on that side, if we slew back then it centers again no problem. This seems odd to me. How can it be fine on one side, off on the other, and then go back to the same side and be fine again? Doesn't matter if you slew east and RE-CAL or if you start with the west and RE-CAL. As soon as it crosses the meridian it is off by .5 degrees.