•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Moravian G3 16200 bright band on top part of image

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Manav

Manav

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Sydney, NSW, Australia

Posted 25 August 2019 - 05:25 AM

Hi guys,

I'm new to CCD imaging and am using the G3 16200 camera with Stellarvue SVQ100.

I've noticed that all of the images I'm taking have a really bright band on the top part.

Have attached example herein:

1. https://www.flickr.c...03/48616379356/

2. https://www.flickr.c...03/48616364391/

Stretching the images shows saturation evenly starting from the top of the image.

Can anyone help point me in the right direction of how I could troubleshoot this?

Regards

Manav

#2 BenKolt

BenKolt

Surveyor 1

Posted 26 August 2019 - 02:38 PM

Hi, Manav, and congrats on the new 16200 camera!

Are these calibrated or raw frames?  I'd make sure to go through the full calibration process, step by step to compare images, dark frames, flat frames, etc.

What filters were you using?

Is it possible that you are simply seeing sky gradient?  What were your sky conditions like?

Best Regards,

Ben

#3 BKMaynard

BKMaynard

Ranger 4

• Loc: Dupo, Il. (st.louis area)

Posted 26 August 2019 - 03:00 PM

I have the same ccd camera and was seeing the same thing when using Maxim DL. I switched to The Sky X and that all went away. My guess is the ASCOM driver for the camera has some issues. Are you using the SIPS program that came with the camera? 

#4 buckeyestargazer

buckeyestargazer

Vendor - Buckeyestargazer.net

• Vendors
  • Loc: IN, USA

Posted 26 August 2019 - 03:01 PM

Sure looks like sky gradient to me.  

#5 Ron in Michigan

Ron in Michigan

Mariner 2

• Loc: W. Michigan

Posted 26 August 2019 - 03:10 PM