•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Can anyone help me make sense of these and provide some guidance?

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 iknowadrian

iknowadrian

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 25 August 2019 - 03:59 PM

Hey guys - just moved into a new apartment in a cool city. Looking for a scope to browse around the city and look out at the water.

Ideally, something a bit smaller, but still strong enough that I could zoom In and see the painting on the wall of the art gallery ~2000ft away (not literally but a strong zoom is desired) haha

I was eyeing the Celestron C70 Mini Mak but also the C90 (and getting a zooming EP).

But im new to this so im getting caught up in all the details and its becoming overwhelming. Maybe Im looking at this all wrong and the the larger aperture is going to offer much in performance when it comes to just city viewing? Maybe a cheaper Refractor or spotting scope? Want it to also look nice on display some I'm avoiding binoculars.

Any suggestions or guidance would be really helpful! Thank you :)

#2 markb

markb

Mariner 2

• Loc: Long Island; in transition to Arizona

Posted 25 August 2019 - 05:06 PM

A well reviewed 70mm-80mm spotter would do nicely, but you need to see if it matches your eyepiece choices.

Short tube refractors might not satisfy the close-up urges or the wallet, but have the greatest utility if you take it outside for astro use. F7 refractors may be too bulky for you to leave out. Visitors will be intrigued.