•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Affinity Photo verses Photoshop?

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Edski

Edski

Sputnik

• topic starter
  • Loc: Anderson SC

Posted 26 August 2019 - 06:26 AM

Newbie question

Anyone with experience successfully using Affinity Photo verses Photoshop in astrophotography?   

Most posts I read folks process using Photoshop and for good reason as its a powerful tool, but as I am just starting out, the price tag is a bit much.

Sometimes you get what you pay for, sometimes you waist money when good alternative cost effective products are available.   Looking to sort this one out?

All thoughts are welcome

Edski

#2 Ed Wiley

Ed Wiley

Surveyor 1

• Loc: Texas, USA

Posted 26 August 2019 - 09:08 AM

I picked Luminar. Relatively inexpensive and does a lot. Never tried Affinity Photo. I also use Lightroom (stand alone version) for some tasks. But that is for regular photography and putting some final touches on DSLR astrophotos. I sprung for PixInsight for most astrophoto processing. But don't take my word for it, I mostly process science images and not astrophotos.

Ed

Edited by Ed Wiley, 26 August 2019 - 09:11 AM.

#3 rgsalinger

rgsalinger

Fly Me to the Moon

• Moderators
  • Loc: Carlsbad Ca

Posted 26 August 2019 - 09:46 AM

I really don't see why you can't use any image processing program as long as it meets a couple of criteria. First, it has to be able to handle 16 bit TIFF files (or better) that are really large. Second, it has to allow for masking and layers so that you can control your results. Finally, at a minimum, it has to allow you to stretch and image. If it can do those three things, then it's worth looking at.

Rgrds-Ross

• Steve Cox likes this

#4 russ.carpenter

russ.carpenter

Sputnik

• Loc: Green Valley, Arizona

Posted 26 August 2019 - 11:12 AM