Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Trying to use The Sky X Pro and PHD2

  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 GPieschala

GPieschala

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 17 Aug 2019

Posted 27 August 2019 - 12:38 AM

I am trying to get The Sky X Professional (used for pointing and slewing) to work at the same time as PHD2 (to be used for guiding).  I am having quite a bit of trouble.  My start up routine:

 

1. Connect the mount (Takahashi EM400 Temma 2) to The Sky X.  I sync the mount on a star to initialize.

 

2. I start PHD2 as an administrator and select "ASCOM Telescope Driver for The Sky" as the telescope. (I had downloaded and installed earlier.)

 

3.  When I hit connect, the "connecting with telescope" box appears.

 

But, then I get a message: "Mount does not support the required pulse guide system."

 

I can run PHD2 (without connection to The Sky X) using the ASCOM Temma driver.

 

Any thoughts or suggestions?

 

Greg



#2 jfrech14

jfrech14

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 905
  • Joined: 17 Jan 2012
  • Loc: Virginia, USA

Posted 27 August 2019 - 01:33 AM

Can you connect the mount to two different programs at once in this way? I would think you can't without something special to manage the communication between them (maybe the driver can do it?), but I haven't tried with this equipment. 

 

try this on ascom setup? https://github.com/O...i/SkyX-Settings

maybe connect to the mount in theskyx and then connect to theskyx mount in phd2. 


Edited by jfrech14, 27 August 2019 - 01:50 AM.


#3 pyrasanth

pyrasanth

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1837
  • Joined: 08 Jan 2016

Posted 27 August 2019 - 03:02 AM

I used the SkyX with PHD2 for many months. However I was working with my Paramount MX+ so I'm hoping that you don't have a true incompatibility. It would be good for you to post a question on the Bisque forum to see if they can help. Have you selected pulse guide in the ASCOM settings and tried other options?

 

If all fails try this http://www.store.sho...y.com/gpusb.htm


Edited by pyrasanth, 27 August 2019 - 03:11 AM.


#4 Patrick Chevalley

Patrick Chevalley

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 60
  • Joined: 04 Jul 2017

Posted 27 August 2019 - 05:21 AM

You have info how to configure TheSky ASCOM driver for PHD2 here:

https://github.com/O...i/SkyX-Settings



#5 GPieschala

GPieschala

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 17 Aug 2019

Posted 27 August 2019 - 01:09 PM

Patrick -  this was the fix!!!!  Thank you very much!



#6 ChrisMoses

ChrisMoses

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 988
  • Joined: 22 Oct 2014
  • Loc: Fort Wayne, IN, USA

Posted 08 September 2019 - 12:33 PM

GPieschala,

 

This is a tad bit off-topic, but do you use TSX for imaging?  If so, how do you handle dithering.  It has always seemed to me that if you use TSX for imaging that PhD2 wouldn't know about the dithering and would try to remove them by corrections in guiding.

 

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

 

Thanks,

Chris




CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.


Recent Topics






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics