•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Used evo8 with condensation

• Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 protocol_droid

protocol_droid

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: chula vista, ca

Posted 31 August 2019 - 06:25 PM

Hello all. Im a super newbie just entering the stargazing scene. I went from looking at the simple 4se to 8se and meade lx90 or lx200's and was open to any for simple observation without photography in mind. Anyhow, found a great deal on an evo8. looked great when i picked it up and had all the proper gear. However, upon closer inspection under direct light at home, i noticed there was some condensation or maybe its something else on the inside top portion of the scope which i didnt notice earlier. Its entirely possible the person wiped it down before i came with a ton of.cleaner or water and its there somehow because of that. I used a blowdryer on the outside for ~20 min to no avail. Can anyone recommend a proper procedure to remove said condensation on the inside top of the scope? it doesnt appear to be anywhere else on the inside. pic of said condesation enclosed.35a44d5f329719936223ff58186b8c6f.jpg

Sent from my SM-G965U1 using Tapatalk

Edited by protocol_droid, 31 August 2019 - 07:19 PM.

• Tony91 likes this

#2 ishorx

ishorx

Vostok 1

Posted 31 August 2019 - 08:04 PM

you could tip it upside down take off the diagnol or remove cap and either put in the sun or use a hair dryer gently on the corrector and warm slightly 

#3 protocol_droid

protocol_droid

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 31 August 2019 - 09:11 PM

i will try leaving it out in the sun with the angle off and the ota facing up. its a warm summer in socal right now. hopefully this will take care of it. i did see some youtube vids and disassembly but dont want to do that until its a last option.

#4 TelescopeGreg