•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

phone apps for star charts

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 jmillsbss

jmillsbss

Vostok 1

• topic starter
  • Loc: New Albany, Mississippi, USA

Posted 09 September 2019 - 09:11 AM

Hey all  -   I have been using SkEye as my primary chart resource for about 4 months and it's been remarkably helpful.  It doesn't overwhelm with every single star or object in the sky but it can be set up to show as many or as few objects as you want.  Also, it's very easy to option in or out any number of parameters.  Just super helpful for the new stargazer.

It's got a tracking option that allows you to attach it to a scope, make a 2-star alignment and suddenly now you have a push-to scope.  On the surface, this is awesome.  A free app that gives you an upgrade worth more than the cost of your scope!

BUT - there's always a but.... although I've had modest success, it always seems to experience an issue, "WARNING: Strange Magnetic Field Present".

The instruction is to restart your phone, wave the phone in a "figure 8", re-attach to OTA and repeat another alignment procedure.  That'll work for a bit but then you get the same message and lose the alignment.  Upon further digging, turns out the strange magnetic field is caused by metal objects....It says do not attach to metal structures....

MY ENTIRE XT10 TELESCOPE IS METAL!!!!!   Would you have me attach it to the fiber-board rocker box?!?  No, of course not.  It's gotta be attached to the OTA and oriented toward the same general line of sight as your telescope.

Oh, I already know.  "Jay, you can't expect an app on your (cheaper than most) phone to perform as a DSC setup or GoTo mount."