•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Astronomical Almanac? Anyone use it/one?

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 montejw360

montejw360

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 09 September 2019 - 11:10 PM

Going down the youtube rabbit hole on another subject I learned about Astronomical Almanac(s). The one in particular mentioned was for Australia. I googled and found one created by the Navy put out by year, and another one on Amazon that covers several years from now until 2023.

Anyone use one? I've always wondered how do people know what cool and interesting events are coming up, like transits and oculations (sp). I'm really new to this stuff.

You can pick an object in Stellarium and fast forward the clock, but that's a bit random and tedious. For Star Parties and such you would want to know if there are any interesting events coming on that night to look for. And even for the near and distant future there may be events you will want to plan for, but how do you know they are happening?

Thanks.

#2 csa/montana

csa/montana

Den Mama & Gold Star Award Winner

• Moderators
  • Loc: montana

Posted 09 September 2019 - 11:24 PM

Welcome to Cloudy Nights!  For a better fit of your topic, this thread will be moved to  Astro Art, Books, Websites & Other Media.

#3 stevenrjanssens

stevenrjanssens

Sputnik

• -----

Posted 10 September 2019 - 12:29 AM

The Royal Astronomical Society of Canada puts out their Observer's Handbook each fall for the upcoming year. It has a month by month breakdown of astronomical events for the year in addition to a whole bunch of useful info. There's a link to the preview for this year's on the Cloudy Nights homepage:

https://www.cloudyni...d-preview-r3164

Edited by stevenrjanssens, 10 September 2019 - 12:30 AM.

• Dave Mitsky and bbanicki like this

#4 Cali

Cali

Viking 1