•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

iOptron Skyguider as a good first astrophotography mount?

mount dslr
  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 lemonade

lemonade

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 15 September 2019 - 08:41 PM

Hi. I'm fairly new to imaging, although I've been doing a lot of research on the topic and I've been doing visual astronomy for a while. I'm looking to get my first "real" imaging mount, as so far I've only been strapping my canon 600d to the eq mount that came with my orion 130eq and using an eq motor to get up to ~1min exposures at 300mm with good polar alignment. While it's still fun and rewarding with this setup, I'd like to upgrade to something that will let me get some better quality images with a lot less frustration and tinkering.

In my research it seems the iOptron skyguider is a fairly common mount in this price range. Although a lot of people mention factory issues with it, it seems most are happy with the results they get. To start I'd really just be using my 600D with a kit lens and a cheap zoom lens that came with it, but I plan to upgrade to using a small fast refractor such as the WO RedCat 51. It seems a lot of people overload the thing with gear, and many have advised staying under 50% max load for imaging, but a combination of my 600D + the RedCat would still follow that rule it seems.