•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Newbie here gonna try Astrophotography any suggestions or tips

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Lasor1

Lasor1

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 17 September 2019 - 08:23 AM

Hey there I am going to try to dabble with Astrophotography. I have a Stellarvue access sv102 refractor with field flattener/reducer a zwo asi 294mc pro and a zwo 290 mini for guide camera and a zwo 60mm guide scope. My mount is a celestron advanced vx mount. I currently cannot polar align with Polaris. Because of trees blocking view so I been doing a a all star polar alignment. Has anyone done all star Polar Alignment and successfully take photos of dso’s or am I wasting my time. I am a total beginner and I have dabbled with photography and photoshop a little bit before but I currently do not have any post processing software I have looked into an all in one software to run cameras and image processing. Anyone have any suggestions for a newbie what software they like any tips and suggestions are greatly appreciated thanks.

#2 Kaydubbed

Kaydubbed

Vostok 1

• Loc: Kansas City, Missouri

Posted 17 September 2019 - 08:46 AM

You are at the edge with your focal length, weight, and mount, but you shouldn't have problems pulling off 90 second subs. The important part is the tricky calibration of your 294MC and for that, there are vast resources here on CN. 

Also consider drift alignment in PHD2 as a good alternative to ASPA. As for processing, I like Astro Pixel Processor for stacking and most of my post-processing. I use INDI and a Raspberry Pi 4 with Ekos for everything involved in the integration from polar alignment, to capture, to mount and scope control. 

#3 droe

droe

Viking 1

• Loc: Fenton, Mi

Posted 17 September 2019 - 08:48 AM