•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

What was that in the sky? Probably easy answer for non n00bs!

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 molder

molder

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Long Island, NY

Posted 17 September 2019 - 08:42 PM

So I was watching Saturn for about an hour tonight in NY from 8:30-9:30 (beautiful night!).  On 2 occasions I saw some blueish colored ball go from 11 oclock to 5 oclock across the EP in about .5-1 second.  It was about the same size, maybe slightly bigger, than the stars visible in the EP.  I was using a Nexstar 6SE with a 9mm EP so about 167x magnification.  Wondering what I saw?  Like I said, super newbie here.  I assumed it was a satellite but wanted to ask people who know!  TIA!

• aeajr likes this

#2 Napp

Napp

Surveyor 1

• Loc: Florida, USA

Posted 17 September 2019 - 10:32 PM

A satellite crossing through the eyepiece field is extremely common.  Happens almost every night I set up.  Sometimes I see meteors cross the field, too, but not as common.

#3 tog

tog

Apollo

• -----
  • Loc: Front Yard

Posted 17 September 2019 - 10:49 PM

Bats and plenty of bugs will fly into your field of view this time of year.

#4 Gamewarden

Gamewarden

Sputnik

• -----

Posted 18 September 2019 - 07:08 AM

lots of geese here.

#5 aeajr

aeajr

Voyager 1

• Loc: Long Island, New York, USA

Posted 18 September 2019 - 07:33 AM