•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Telescope for capturing galaxies

astrophotography
  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Jesus Munoz

Jesus Munoz

Messenger

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: El Paso, Texas

Posted 17 September 2019 - 11:28 PM

Hello,

I have been astrophotographying large objects for about 5 years (mainly nebulas) with telescopes from 255-1000 mm of focal lenght.  Now I want to go beyond and hunt some galaxies, but at 1000 mm those objects are shown very small (MN190 + ZWO ASI1600).  What telescope do you recommend for taking for example a close up of the hamburger galaxy in Leo or NGC 2903 also in Leo?

My mount is a CEM120EC, permanently installed on a pier. 

Thanks in advance

Jose

• psandelle likes this

#2 dhaval

dhaval

Vendor

• Vendors
  • Loc: Round Rock, TX

Posted 17 September 2019 - 11:35 PM

You need the big boys to get up close and personal - Celestron C11 EdgeHD (2800mm FL), GSO RC scopes - at least 10in, 12in is better. At F8, a 12in RC scope will give you around 2400mm FL while the 10in will give you around 2000mm FL. You need that much at least. You want to ditch reducers. RC scopes will need flatteners. The C11 should be fine without flatteners. I should also mention C9.25 EdgeHD. I won't go lower than that.

That camera will produce over sampled images - ensure your are guiding appropriately. 

CS!

#3 Jesus Munoz

Jesus Munoz

Messenger

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 17 September 2019 - 11:44 PM