•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Looking for examples of excellence with a Celestron C8 EdgeHD

astrophotography beginner Celestron
  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 rzgp33

rzgp33

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 19 September 2019 - 06:47 AM

Hello Everyone.

I have just bought the Celestron C8 EdgeHD/AVX package.  Its yet to arrive.

I am an old time photographer that has made lots of images with normal camera/lenses over the years.

The C8 is to be for visual, the Moon and Planets, and I am then going to use the AVX with my Fujifilm Mirrorless and try to get some tracked wide field shots.

Over the years I have collected a lot of old lenses, some that are mentioned as good astros.

These include Tair 300, Nikon 180ed, Takumar 200/135, Zeiss 100/f2 and 135/28 and of course the excellent Fujiflim lenses. Lots more things to try

Hopefully the AVX will be up to this, but if I find I like this I'll probably be saving for a better mount, and I'll no doubt be looking for a nice apo refractor at some stage  :)

I know I've probably got this in the wrong order but the C8/AVX deal was a good one, and there is nothing like a great close up of the moon. In the package I bought I added SLR adapters, the reducer, a OAG and guide cam, just so I cam take *some* pictures, but I'm aware that the C8 is not the tool for Astrophotography.

However while I wait for the package to arrive I have been trolling astrobin looking for pictures taken with the C8 Edgehd.  To be frank I have been less than impressed. My expectations were low but its mostly cotton balls (soft stars). Is this just a side effect of the large magnification? I did actually expect the scope to be at least sharp, it has had good reviews. The reducer and hyperstar don't really seem to help that much.