•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Why is software still written for deprecated OS versions?

• Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 gwilson001

gwilson001

Lift Off

• topic starter
  • Loc: Orange County, CA

Posted 19 September 2019 - 02:17 PM

I have been researching astrophotography equipment and am trying to understand why the software that comes with most CCD's is written for Win98, XP or Win 7?  

These versions are no longer supported and unless you have an old computer lying around you are not going to be running any of these versions.

I'm sure that most will probably run on Win 10 but it is not listed as a compatible OS on most of the software I have seen bundled with many if not most of the CCD's.

This seems to be true for scope controlling software as well.  As an InfoSec professional I will not run deprecated versions of any OS  for all of the obvious reasons.

I'm amazed that manufactures are continuing to produce software for these unsupported OS's.

#2 descott12

descott12

Apollo

• -----
  • Loc: Charlotte, NC

Posted 19 September 2019 - 02:24 PM

I don't think it is that anybody are producing software for deprecated OS versions. I think it is more that they simply have not had the chance to update or fully test on newer versions.

I am a Windows developer and I have a app that I created and market and I can tell you that it is tough to keep up sometimes and, for me,  the Windows 10 transition has been the worst of all the major updates from a support and development standpoint.

And there are still MANY Win 7 computers around and they will be for some time. Believe or not, I still have an XP box that I use for alot of things. It is not accessible from the internet but it is still very useful to me.

• Jon Isaacs, Roger Corbett and Szumi like this

#3 OldManSky

OldManSky

Surveyor 1