•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

anyone have experience collimating a triplet?

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 nateman_doo

nateman_doo

Viking 1

• **---
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Dirty Jersey

Posted 19 September 2019 - 09:46 PM

I recently bought an ED 102 triplet APO for a star party in a few days (second hand), and it requires collimation.  

I am on the fence.  Do I meddle with it (i have PLENTY of experience collimating an R/C scope which has much more complexity) or have it collimated under warranty?  I would hate to waste the chance to use a widefield refractor at a dark site (BFSP)  Looks simple enough with the adjustment screws on the front of the scope.  

GskRg5n.png

wg5w8u2.png

First light:  https://i.imgur.com/pbrshp9.jpg

(see bottom left especially)

I also bought the field flattener for this scope and all the proper adapters.

The Sharpcap screen captures are with the focal reducer/field flattener made my explore scientific, and the M13 image is with an astrotech field flattener.

#2 ngc7319_20

ngc7319_20

Apollo

• Loc: MD

Posted 19 September 2019 - 10:20 PM

Triplets often have smalls screws on the sides of the glass elements to center them.  This is in addition to the usual tip/tilt screws which move the entire cell on the OTA.  There may also be adjustments for tilting the focuser on the OTA.  Probably between a laser, cheshire tool, and star test you should be able to figure it out.

#3 nateman_doo

nateman_doo

Viking 1

• **---
  • topic starter

Posted 21 September 2019 - 06:19 AM

laser?  what is the beam reflecting off of?  Cheshire?  What is the ring reflecting off of?  I dont really see any way to collimate other than a star test.  lasers and cheshires require some form of reflecting off a mirror.  

#4 Der_Pit

Der_Pit

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: La Palma