•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Software to organize FITS images - is any need?

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Anton.V

Anton.V

Vendor - Phototheca

• -----
  • Vendors
  • topic starter

Posted 30 September 2019 - 01:15 PM

Hi, community

My name is Anton. I'm a software developer. I have the pet project I work for years - photo organizing software for Windows. Before yesterday I knew nothing about astrophotography. By accident, I saw a forum thread at Affinity Photo website, where astrophotographers asked to add support for FITS format to Affinity Photo editor software(I have no relation to Affinity company). The software I make has weak editing photo capabilities, but quite powerful features to organize massive amounts of photos, in opposite to Affinity that can edit but not organize images.

Then I thought - what if astrophotographers want to organize their FITS images as well? The program I made offers features to organize images in folders and albums, tag with keywords, add descriptions, and do an instant search; it works quite fast and offers a free plan as well. But it does not support FITS format yet, obviously. Now I'm thinking to add support for FITS format to the software and offer it in a free plan also.

As this is a significant undertaking to add support for FITS, I decided to ask a community before starting to implement this feature.

So, basically, I have two questions I would like to ask astrophotographers community:

1. What software or approach do you use to organize and tag FITS images?
  2. Would you be interested in having Windows desktop software to catalogize and organize FITS images?

Every answer is very appreciated, as well as other thoughts on the topic smile.gif

PS: the software itself is called Phototheca(https://lunarship.com)

• ericsolo likes this

#2 rathijit

rathijit