•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Bad eyepiece eye

• Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 CygnuS

CygnuS

Apollo

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: The Great Rift

Posted 06 October 2019 - 10:32 PM

I'm sure I'm not onto something but I just thought I would put this out there anyways.  I've been lucky with my vision. At 59 I have never wore glasses (except "readers" the past few years) but now I'm due for full time glasses since my right eye is going bad. I've been an avid amateur for over 20 years, with the majority of my observing done with a 10 inch Dob, looking with my right eye. I'm not claiming that is why my right eye went bad. I'm simply asking if any research has been done on this. If not, have any of you long time observers had your eyepiece eye be the first to go bad? 

I'm making no assumptions here since I have been assured that things like Venus at high magnification are no danger.....still, just thought I'd ask. 

#2 B 26354

B 26354

Apollo

• -----
  • Loc: Southern California semi-desert (NELM mag 5.3)

Posted 06 October 2019 - 10:49 PM

Been a dedicated (right-eye) DSO visual observer for the past sixty-five years. I started needing distance eyeglasses when I was about fifty... but except for a very small difference in the directionality of the small amount of astigmatism that each eye has, the rather mild prescription for each eye is about the same.

#3 TOMDEY

TOMDEY

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: Springwater, NY

Posted 06 October 2019 - 11:04 PM