•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Help to fix EQ5 - Mount Modifications (Bearings/housing etc)

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 cjr

cjr

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 09 October 2019 - 08:02 PM

Hi guys,

As the topic states i am looking to modify an EQ5 that i have been using for a while to see what i can get out of it. I have an EQ6-R on order as a replacement mount so i don't mind how this goes, obviously like it to be successful but if something goes wrong its not the end of the world. I'm not an engineer so i could be off in my thoughts which is why I'm here.

Basically i was looking to service the EQ5 so that i had a good reliable portable mount for astrophotography but after tearing it down a lot of the internals are less than to be desired.

Basically seeking a bit of advice or an open discussion about how to proceed in making this mount perform a bit better as a learning experience and to get some solid information together for others that may want to do the same.

In breaking down the mount the way things are shimmed and the lack of the correct bearings are my main concerns. Other than the standard de-burring, polishing and re-greasing i am trying to workout what i could do to make the mount perform:

RA Axis - bearings that handle the axial and radial loads

• The standard bearing that is in there is not really fit for purpose. I am looking at machining out a small amount of the housing or machining up a housing that can press into place and fitting a tapered roller being on the upper end of the shaft.