•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Equatorial Mount for DSLR

• Please log in to reply
39 replies to this topic

#1 navcom

navcom

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Lake City, MN USA

Posted 10 October 2019 - 09:10 AM

Hi folks!  Complete noob here.  I'm literally just starting out and am looking for a DSLR equatorial mount.  Have loved the night sky and night photography for many years but have never waded into the astronomy end of things.  I've been a photographer for many years, so I have photo equipment covered in spades, but I have no astronomy equipment or knowledge for that matter.

What I'd like to start with is just using a DSLR for some long exposure stacking.  I'm a Nikon guy and would like to use a D850 with a 200-500mm lens (the largest I have).  Can anyone point me in the right direction for an affordable equatorial mount that can handle this pairing?  Would I need a specialized tripod or will a heavy duty Manfroto work?

Thanks for any help!  Really excited about starting out!

Jeff

#2 DubbelDerp

DubbelDerp

Mariner 2

• Loc: Upper Peninsula of Michigan

Posted 10 October 2019 - 09:22 AM

I've had good luck with my iOptron Skyguider Pro. It should mount to any heavy-duty tripod with a 3/8" bolt. Longest focal length I've used with it is 360mm, and managed 120-second exposures with acceptable (to me) drift. At 50mm and less, 5 minute exposures are no problem.

• navcom likes this

#3 cst4

cst4

Explorer 1

Posted 10 October 2019 - 09:22 AM

iOptron Skyguider Pro and Skywatcher Star Adventurer are the two most basic and portable EQ mounts that come to mind.  Never used either of them myself.  I have a Skywatcher AZ-GTI mount which is a lot of fun and with a software upgrade it can do EQ tracking.  I would think your Manfrotto would work with any of these.

• navcom likes this

#4 navcom

navcom

Lift Off