•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

What is a good mount for astrophotography on a budget?

astrophotography mount
  • Please log in to reply
50 replies to this topic

#1 Dimitrij

Dimitrij

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 12 October 2019 - 10:05 AM

I am a beginner to astrophotography and telescopes in general and I have a limited budget to work with ($1000 dollars or more is way out of my budget). I have a lens I know I want and it is the zenithstar 61 f/5.9 doublet and now I need a mount. The mount needs to be GoTo and an Equatorial mount, I've been searching for a while and I just can't find something that will work for me. The only mount I can find that I think will work for what I want is the iOptron SmartEQ Pro+ GoTo German Equatorial Mount. It would be great if anyone could give me any advice on what to buy or if the mount I found is good. Thanks in advance!

#2 tog

tog

Apollo

• -----
  • Loc: Front Yard

Posted 12 October 2019 - 10:19 AM

I would start my search in the used market. Most of the big astro retailers have used equipment posted on their web sites. Good luck in your search. You will find what you are looking for!

• Hesiod likes this

#3 Dimitrij

Dimitrij

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 12 October 2019 - 10:22 AM

I would start my search in the used market. Most of the big astro retailers have used equipment posted on their web sites. Good luck in your search. You will find what you are looking for!

Okay thanks! I will look for some used mounts, also does anybody know if the iOptron skyguider pro is a good mount because I have just found that and it looks pretty good.

#4 Jim Waters

Jim Waters

Mercury-Atlas

• Loc: Phoenix, AZ USA

Posted 12 October 2019 - 10:44 AM

Check out used mounts.  Ask for astrophoto examples with that mount.  Do NOT get a Celestron AVX mount...  New or used...