•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

CEM25 Loading Instructions

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 ravi.krkl

ravi.krkl

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 12 October 2019 - 12:59 PM

I got a IOptron CEM25 mount and Orion F3.9 Astrograph. I am new to big telescopes and I need some help in mount balancing instructions. In the attached picture, combined weight of OTA/Imaging Camera/Guide scope+Camera is 12Kg's. As per the CEM25 manual "Payload of 27 lbs (12.3 kg) with the mount-only weight of 10.4 lbs (4.7 kg)". Mount came with 4.5Kg counterweight. Do I need to buy additional 2 of them so that I can properly balance it?  Theoretically I feel yes. Hope it wont be a too much load on the mount.

#2 mistateo

mistateo

Apollo

• Loc: San Diego, CA

Posted 12 October 2019 - 01:25 PM

I hate to be "that guy" but you are likely going to struggle with that combo.  You are right at the weight limit, plus an 8 inch newtonian will catch the breeze very easily on a small mount like this.  At nearly 800mm focal length, many of the cameras will give you an imaging scale that will be tough to deal with using this combo.

• scadvice and OldManSky like this

#3 OldManSky

OldManSky

Surveyor 1

• Loc: Valley Center, CA USA

Posted 12 October 2019 - 02:22 PM

There was no attached picture...

What size mirror is your f/3.9 Orion astrograph?  If it's the 8" (200mm mirror), you're pushing the limits of the CEM25.  I successfully image with a 6" (150mm) f/4 Newtonian, with total weight of the scope/rings/camera/guider/etc. being at about 17 pounds, and that's about as high as I would go.  The issue is partly the weight, and partly the sheer size (mostly length) of an 8" scope.  It's a sail in the wind, it has a large moment arm, and much of the weight (around the focuser/camera) is far from the center of balance.