•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Moon/Planet(/Sun?) video file size

planet astrophotography solar moon
  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 gfryhof

gfryhof

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 15 October 2019 - 07:43 PM

Hi all,

I'm very new to astrophotography. I have a Celestron NexStar 8SE with a f/6.3 focal reducer. In terms of cameras I have a ZWO ASI183MM for deep space (I am realizing I probably should have gotten the ASI1600MM) and ZWO 290MC (maybe should have gotten ASI224) for planetary imaging.

I'm not saying the camera was best suited, but I recently tried using the 183MM on this setup to image the moon using SharpCap, which I believe at shorter exposures defaults to saving files as a .avi movie file rather than individual images.

In my naivete, I took a 5 minute video of the moon a couple of weeks ago using the native 183MM camera resolution (5496 x 3672) and 1x binning....I ended up with a 40 gigabyte file size. I'm sure if I had kept imaging for longer I would have ended up crashing my cheap-o ($300) windows imaging laptop (because at the end of the day I decided it was better to buy a cheap windows imaging laptop than to try to get stuff compatible with a MAC).

Bottom line, is everyone getting huge file sizes like this (40+ GB) for moon/planetary/solar imaging (anything with short exposure time that is saved as .avi), or is something wrong with my settings -- should I be imaging at lower resolution???

Given the large (>40 GB) file size, I wasn't able to even begin to stack my .avi file using autostakkert, let alone move into PixInsight for further processing.

What I am doing wrong? See attached for one frame of my moon attempt frown.gifhttps://astrob.in/bpncnl/0/

Thank you for your help,

-George

Edited by gfryhof, 15 October 2019 - 08:02 PM.

#2 Jim Davis

Jim Davis

Skylab