•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Converting from DeepSky to Planetary

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 jsowens

jsowens

Vostok 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 16 October 2019 - 09:02 PM

I have many years of successful experience doing deep sky AP.  These days I shoot mostly with the Hyperstar and an Atik 460ex on my edge14. 

But having shot most of the targets I like, I thought it might be fun to dabble in planetary AP.....the conversion over has been bumpy. 

Here's what I've done and where I'm at:
1. Removed the Hyperstar/FW/Atik and dropped-in the secondary.
2. Off the back I built the following train: Starlight crayford > 2.5 barlow > filterwheel > ASI174MM..there are 'rings and things' in-between but the back-focus is correct.
3. Then I moved the primary into rough focus and locked it. 
4. Then I drew-back the crayford to 1/2 way, set the micro-touch controller to 1/2 way (30k) and moved the mirco-touch motor off the native focuser and over to the crayford.
5. Rebalanced
6. At this point I'm just trying to to focus so I can perform a collimation.....here’s where I'm stuck.

I'm not used to CMOS imagers and these settings are foreign.  The ASCOM driver for the ASI in SkyX gives me the following options:
- RAW: 8 or 16.  I assume this is bit-depth so I've been using 16
- Gain: 0-240.  I've been keeping it in the middle.
- Offset: 0-240.  Again in the middle
- USB Limit: 40-100.  I have it on 51

With these settings, I can ONLY get an image of Vega (or other suitable bright star) if the exposure if 4 seconds or greater.  Anything less than 4 and no data.  Bin 1x1 and 2x2 both require the 4 sec minimum.
This makes it very hard to autofocus as the @focus3 routine controls exposure time to get to the ADU it decides is best BEFORE moving the focuser.