•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Dimensions For Ring Spherometer and Foucault ?

ATM mirror making
  • Please log in to reply
80 replies to this topic

#1 CharlieM

CharlieM

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: London, Ontario, Canada

Posted 17 October 2019 - 09:15 PM

Lots of resources online for making spherometers and Foucaults, however pretty much every design assumes the maker does not have access to a well equipped machine shop. I'm getting popsicle sticks and razor blades etc.... Since I am a machinist with his own shop, i think i can do better than most, once I get a good design happening. I have dial indicators and micrometer heads but I don't have a good idea about the dimensions of these instruments.I am going to be grinding my first mirror and am tentatively planning a 14 inch F6..... i am told that would be a nice general dob and i already have a 10 inch. I read that ring spherometers are superior to the kind with 3 legs, but have 3 carbide legs on reserve, just in case someone talks me out of that. 

As far as the Foucault goes, I can't even find any professional designs at all. What size is the optical slit ? How much adjustment does the slit need ? Do i put together an X-Y table and if so how much travel do I need on each axis ??

Metric or Imperial... makes no difference to me, but I'm leaning metric.

Any suggestions ?

Thanks gang !!

#2 BGRE

BGRE

Mercury-Atlas

• Loc: New Zealand

Posted 17 October 2019 - 09:31 PM

See
https://www.trioptic...ts/spherometer/

for examples of high accuracy spherometers.

Ring spherometers tend to become somewhat massive as the size increases and require accurately hardened and ground rings.
Up to 6" or so diameter they are manageable.
One drawback is they are not suited to detecting astigmatism whereas this presents no difficulty to a 3 ball spherometer.