•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Opinions on potential first Observing/AP setup

beginner equipment
  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 trifecta00

trifecta00

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 18 October 2019 - 01:27 PM

Hi all.  I hope this is the right place to post this...  I'm a noob who will likely buy his first noobtube in the next month.  My goals:  #1) Observe and learn the night sky (hop and enjoy w/ a scope), #2) stay within a reasonable starting budget (~2,000 USD or less if possible) and #3) have considerable flexibility w/ the initial investment for future expansion of this hobby (i.e. AP) that I think I will really love.  With that in mind, and after considerable reading/watching/chatting, I have been thinking about the following setup to start my adventure into astronomy and later astrophotography....

Scope:  Orion Astrograph 8" Reflector

Tri/Mount:  EQ6-R (yes it's big but it gives me significant flexibility on future scope upgrades)

Perhaps early next year, the following (budget 1000-1500 USD):

DSLR:  Used Canon t2i to t7i, AP modded (where/who?)

Guide scope:  ???

Other:  Coma Corrector, software, etc...

Questions: Do you think this is a good approach?  Should I consider other equipment in place of what I have listed?  Is the budget reasonable to achieve my goals?  Is the tripod/mount too aggressive?  Other insights?

Thanks!!!

#2 SilverLitz

SilverLitz

Mariner 2

• -----
  • Loc: Louisville, KY

Posted 18 October 2019 - 02:13 PM

Very good choice on the EQ6-R, a very high bang/buck mount.