•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Recommendations for Pre-Processing software automation/ batch processing

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Ivandn

Ivandn

Vostok 1

• topic starter
  • Loc: Arizona

Posted 20 October 2019 - 02:30 PM

I've been using Pixinsight for the last 2 years and have been happy with the results. I generally have followed some tutorials online and run through the following steps with pre-processing

1) Creating Master Darks

2) Creating Master Dark Flats

3) Flat Calibration with Dark Flats

4) Creating Master Flats

5) Lights Calibration with Master Darks and Master Flats

6) Subframe selector

7) Registration

9) Master Lights 

I do these individually per filter and it gets pretty time consuming and I'm looking for options to help automate some of these steps and help repeat them for each filter. 

Is this even possible and is there any good software or combination of software that could help save time? 

#2 chongo228

chongo228

Messenger

• Loc: Raleigh, NC

Posted 20 October 2019 - 02:57 PM

Have you ever tried the BPP (batch preprocessing) script? Seems like that is what you're after. 

I don't use subframe selector....I take the lazy/quick way out and just use blink to find any bad subs.

• psandelle and JukkaP like this

#3 Ivandn

Ivandn

Vostok 1

• topic starter

Posted 20 October 2019 - 03:10 PM

Wow, I never even realized that existed! I just googled it a bit and I'll take some time to figure it out. Jeez, I wish I looked through this a bit more. 

How does it work with Dark Flats instead of Bias frames? 

#4 Lead_Weight

Lead_Weight

Viking 1

• Loc: Houston

Posted 20 October 2019 - 03:12 PM

Astro Pixel Processor will batch multiple sessions and multiple filters very easily.
  • Scott Mitchell, TimN and psandelle like this

#5 Ivandn

Ivandn

Vostok 1

• topic starter