•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Dead Celestron AVX motor board NXW445 rev H

mount
  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Mike_Conley

Mike_Conley

Lift Off

• ****-
  • topic starter

Posted 20 October 2019 - 11:38 PM

In the process of repairing my AVX mount I wound up with an extra motor board that shows obvious damage to part U2.  I'm curious to see if replacing it will bring it back to life (I'm assuming someone like Mouser or DigiKey would carry the part if I can figure out what it is).  As a former electronic tech I think desoldering and resoldering a new part is just barely within my skill set.  Can anyone tell me what part it is?  It has 724G on the body.  I tried to chase that down on the internet but have now given up.  I noticed that U4 is the same part and most of its pins go to the Autoguider port making me think it might be some kind of interface chip or a resistor network.   

• retroman2 likes this

#2 ZL4PLM

ZL4PLM

Vendor - ZWO Product Dev Team Member

• Vendors
  • Loc: Darfield, New Zealand

Posted 21 October 2019 - 12:56 AM

i tried a few - its a 3.3v reg you can get them at mouser

you need a hunk of heat as the ground of the reg is through the pcb pad

none of them i was able to make function again - they seem to fail short and then that must kill the processor

I havent been able to recover any of the 4 i looked at 

celestron needs some serious questions of their design - poor low current component and little in the way of protection which causes the regulator to die and a very expensive board 

I stopped suggesting people buy them - Ive done too many of them !

good luck fixing it :)

cheers

Simon

• Starsareus and retroman2 like this

#3 macdonjh

macdonjh

Aurora

Posted 21 October 2019 - 07:50 AM

I'll betray my mechanical background with this question: