•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Thinking of replacing my 11" Dob with a Cat

• Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 hboswell

hboswell

Mariner 2

• topic starter
  • Loc: Mississippi, USA

Posted 21 October 2019 - 01:51 PM

Maybe I've lost my mind, but - I have a Starmaster 11" EL that's a wonderful scope.  It's my third Starmaster, and I've loved all of them.  So what's the problem?  Two bad knees, a bad shoulder, a bad ankle, and being older than when I got my first one.  It's just getting to be a chore to get the rocker box and mirror box out to an observing site.  I'm finding myself taking it out less and less.  And, with my soon-to-be full retirement, my wife and I are hoping to be spending more time camping, and the EL takes up lots of room in our truck - more than she will be willing to allocate.  So I've been thinking of replacing it with something like the Nexstar 8se, or Evolution 8 or 9.25. If I reading the specs right, any of those would weigh less than the EL, but would they be more "transportable" when camping?  And most important, would I feel like I've given up too much optically compared to the EL?  Am I nuts?

Harry

#2 Eddgie

Eddgie

ISS

Posted 21 October 2019 - 02:05 PM

Yes, you are nuts.

Consider having someone like  Dobstuff make you an ultralight setup using your existing mirrors.  It will cost less and in the end, you will have a far more capable telescope.