•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Correct me if I am wrong, I am a newbie,lol

• Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 Waterobert

Waterobert

Vostok 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Laguna Niguel, California , USA

Posted 21 October 2019 - 08:01 PM

I was just reading up about matching sensor with optics. It is a general rule that best image scale is around 1-1.5 arc second. So, for ZWO ASI 1600 camera (3.8 micron pixel) using telescope with focal length greater than 783mm would result in oversampling. In order to get the best resolution out of the camera, we want to avoid oversampling and unless we have bortle 1-2 skies, getting scope with focal length greater than 783mm would be pointless. Am I correct or is it one off those rules which can be challenged?

#2 Gipht

Gipht

Surveyor 1

• Loc: Prescott Valley, AZ.

Posted 21 October 2019 - 08:15 PM

If skies remain at a constant level of seeing,  then your point would be important.  Tonight my skies looks a little dingy, and I expect some transperancy issues.  3 weeks ago, I had a night where seeing was spectacular.

For me, the imaging scale  I choose is related mostly to field of view.  What is the right telescope and camera that will make a  for a nice picture with plenty of stars around the target.  This will depend more on the targets you wish to image then the image scale.

• Cfreerksen likes this

#3 Cfreerksen

Cfreerksen

Viking 1

• Loc: Tooele, Ut

Posted 21 October 2019 - 08:22 PM

It's not pointless. A longer focal length would give you a larger image. If that what you desire, it's not pointless. The higher pixel ratio just will not give you any added detail. Your just kinda leaving pixels on the table. This is better than leaving detail on the table by undersampling.

It won't ruin your images.  

Chris

• TerryD23 likes this

#4 SilverLitz

SilverLitz