•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Help request. Zeiss D.F.6x30

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 philipsyd

philipsyd

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 22 October 2019 - 07:51 AM

Hi All.

I am new to Cloudy Nights and was hoping someone could assist with some advice about removing the prism covers on my circa 1920's Zeiss D.F.6x30s.

I have disassembled and cleaned my other old binoculars but have not seen a similar arrangement to this.

The prism covers have only one screw on the outer edge of the cover (see photos) but are firmly attached around the lens posts at both the diopter and objective ends. Once the screw is removed, I am able to lift the cover on that side but it is flexing as it seems to be attached around the lens post.

There are no grub screws on the edge of the covers and the cover looks like it fits over the top of the lens post like a tee shirt over a neck.

I have tried isopropyl alcohol, acetone and heat with no effect so have pretty much ruled out sealant, glue or rust as the cause of not being able to move the cover but I could be wrong.

With only one screw holding down the cover from the top, I have to assume there is a location point under the cover but I have no idea what it would be.

I found a brilliant series of photos on the American History Museum's site showing a cut away of an older pair of Zeiss binoculars but the location of the cover at the lens side is achieved by way of a grub screw in the side lip of the cover that once released allows the cover to be lifted away.

Does anyone have any experience with this?

I have been able to repair the jammed diopter mechanisms and have re-seated the lenses so the binoculars are working again but the prisms are calling out for a cleaning.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Attached Thumbnails

• IMG_8080.JPG