•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Need help understanding light cut off & coma in binoviewer

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Volvonium

Volvonium

Mariner 2

• topic starter
  • Loc: Long Beach, CA

Posted 22 October 2019 - 12:26 PM

Hey all, I'm very new with binoviewing and I need help understanding what is going on with my recently acquired binoviewer setup.  I have some educated guesses as to what is going on, but I'm not sure what the best solution will be to address it.

Equipment:

Zeiss Binoviewer, 24.5mm clear aperture all around, 11.5cm light path, 1.25" nosepiece

3.75" long Siebert 1.25X OCA in 1.25" format

16" f/4.5 dobsonian reflector, focal length 1826mm

Issue:  

With the 1.25X OCA, I am able to reach focus with the binoviewer, but there seems to be excessive aperture loss and heavy coma induced.  When defocusing a star that is centered, I get a round defocused star.  When defocusing a star that is anywhere but centered, the defocused star is cut off.   

It kind of looks like this at the eyepiece, where the cutoff will follow the star's position.  If the star was on the left, it would look like a mirror image of my example.

binotoosmalloca.jpg

Considerations:

Telescope is well collimated, binoviewers are well collimated with identical left right image, all optical components/diopters are on axis and well centered. 

With a 2" 2X Telecentric Focal Extender, I can also reach focus and there is no odd coma induced; defocused stars show as circles regardless of position.  It is far too much magnification for my liking, on the other hand.