•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Stacking Question

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 dallen24

dallen24

Vostok 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 22 October 2019 - 08:58 PM

Hi.  I'm still a stacking newbie, hoping someone here could help.

Been having a ball stacking this summer, see http://www.stargazin...llen/photos.htm .  Running my 24" scope with a Tom O. EQ platform, Canon 450D, ISO 1600.  I can typically get 35 to 40 45 second shots on a single run of the platform.  I've been using Deep Star Stacker, just running with the recommended options.  Then I pull the RGB bells together to create a half-way decent image.  I seem to have better luck stacking jpeg than raw images.  Taking dark frames allows me more images in a run, but my bed sheet flats don't seem to make a difference.

Tom O. suggested I look at https://www.cloudyni...d-1s-subs-lrgb/ .  I just skimmed this thread, but it got me thinking.  Is it possible to try a set of 5 second or even 1 second images?  On my runs this summer I did 45 second images with a 5 second gap between images, for shutter shake and cool down.  Could I do 5 or even 1 second shots with no time between shots?  Is that even possible?

#2 D_talley

D_talley

Gemini

• Loc: Albuquerque, New Mexico

Posted 22 October 2019 - 09:01 PM

You can't stack Jpeg images. They are compressed and stacking does not work with compressed files.  Could be why your flats don't work.

#3 dallen24

dallen24

Vostok 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 22 October 2019 - 09:45 PM

You can't stack Jpeg images. They are compressed and stacking does not work with compressed files.  Could be why your flats don't work.