•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Advice on cutting a focuser opening

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 epenna

epenna

Ranger 4

• topic starter

Posted 23 October 2019 - 12:14 AM

I've got a 6" dob and I am trying to upgrade the focuser. I bought a crayford style 1.25", but it requires me to widen the focuser hole. 

I've been trying to figure out the best way to mark the circle I need to cut, but since i have never done this before, I have a feeling I am not thinking this through correctly. I'm leaning towards cutting out a paper circle that is just smaller than the hole I want to cut, place it carefully, mark around it, and then cut. 

Does that make sense? The original hole is kind of jagged, so I am not sure how to find the exact center of the current hole. 

Thanks, 

E

• JohnH likes this

#2 BGRE

BGRE

Mercury-Atlas

• Loc: New Zealand

Posted 23 October 2019 - 01:05 AM

If its cut into a flat surface that will work. If the surface curvature is significant the result will be a hole that only a tube with a matching elliptical cross section will fit.
The "center" of the hole should probably lie on the optical axis of the old focuser.

#3 jtsenghas

jtsenghas

Skylab

• Loc: The flatlands of Northwest Ohio 41.11N --Bloomdale

Posted 23 October 2019 - 06:33 AM

Do you have, or can you borrow a hole saw set and hand drill?  You may be able to set up with two hole saws with the smaller one shimmed or offset with a nut to act as a guide or pilot bit in the original hole if the tube is made of sufficiently soft material.