•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

8" F5 eyepiece lineup?

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Promentory

Promentory

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 23 October 2019 - 01:05 AM

Hello all. I have some questions for experienced observers with regards to focal length lineup. I currently have a 31.5 speers waler, nagler 17mm t4, delos 14mm, morpheus 9mm, 2x barlow, and a sky mentor 8-24mm zoom.

My first question, I bought a used delos on a classifieds site to test, knowing the focal length was close to my 17mm t4. I really enjoy both eyepieces, and was wondering if it makes sense to sell the t4 and look for a used 22mm t4. That gives me a 1.6x jump to the 14mm delos, and would be a good finder eyepiece for light polluted areas. Is the 22mm as enjoyable as the 17mm? I love the 17mm and am very hesitant to sell it.

My second question is in regards to high mag and planetary. I currently have a 4.7mm es 82 deg that I am selling because of eye relief (I observe with glasses). The 9mm morpheus barlowed gives me 4.5mm, which is 222x. My only concern is the increased eye relief with the delos and morpheus. I was thinking of getting a 6.5mm morpheus as well to barlow on those perfect viewing nights. My other thought was the purchase a 2.5x focal extender. That would give me 5.6mm and 3.6mm with my current eyepieces. There is a televue powermate 2.5x close to me used for a great price.

I also have plans in the next year to upgrade to a 10 or 12 inch with 1200mm FL if that plays any part. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

#2 Migwan

Migwan

Apollo

• Loc: Meeechigan

Posted 23 October 2019 - 07:37 AM