•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

sky watcher synscan wi fi adapter

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 mickbut

mickbut

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 23 October 2019 - 09:48 AM

I am a beginner to astronomy, bit late in life for me as I am seventy two years old, I have just purchased a sky star discovery 150p telescope with alt/azimuth go to mount with wi fi adapter, I have had no problems connecting my android phone but I am having trouble with identifying objects in the sky and alignment, I am aware of the learning curve to do that and it's not been helped by cloudy sky's, I am in the Northern hemisphere and only have a view facing s/e s s/w due to restrictions, trees, etc. can anyone help with a problem I am having with the Synscan pro app. I managed alignment of the scope and decided  to have a look at m2 the telescope  went to the destination and started tracking after tracking for a while, I thought I would like to look at Neptune but I could not stop it tracking, i'm sure I have done something wrong but in the absence of instructions as to how to use the app I'm at a loss has to how to overcome this as there appears to be no cancel or stop feature,thanks   

#2 S.Boerner

S.Boerner

Apollo

• Loc: Chesterfield, MO

Posted 23 October 2019 - 10:31 AM

My first suggestion is to see if there is a local astronomy club anywhere near you.  You'll probably be able to get some hands on help to solve your problem and answer your questions.  There is a list of clubs here:  https://www.astrolea...clubs-usa-state  or https://www.skyandte...-organizations/