•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

What's up with my frac?

• Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 leroybrown

leroybrown

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 06 November 2019 - 03:49 AM

Hi - bit of a newbie here, picking up the hobby again after a lengthy break. When I set up my scope again (Celestron 102HD) I noticed the objective was not clean on the inside of the scope so took it off for cleaning - now i think I've disturbed it as i cannot get full focus and CA is pretty terrible. I've tried to draw what I can see in the attachment (this was about as good as I can focus on a brighter star)  - I've tried without the diagonal and and the view is the same so it must be the lens? Just wondering if there is a way to fix it? The scope itself is at least 15 years old (maybe more) so it doesn't exactly owe me anything. It has provided some great views in the past and I'd love to keep it - I'm even looking at upgrading the mount

Attached Thumbnails

• Star image.png

#2 Tapio

Tapio

Vanguard

• -----
  • Loc: Tampere, Finland

Posted 06 November 2019 - 04:10 AM

First, I would not have bothered to clean unless it was really dirty.
But now it looks like a bad collimation issue.
Someone can maybe help you fix.
I'd say spend $100 or something like that for a newer used similar like scope.
Or little more for ED scope for better views.

#3 clearwaterdave

clearwaterdave

Skylab

• ****-
  • Loc: Western Maine

Posted 06 November 2019 - 04:20 AM

My guess would be that you didn't get it screwed back in correctly.,Not sure how your scope goes together but I would take it back apart and reasemble.,slowly.,good luck.,

• AndresEsteban, Joe1950 and leroybrown like this

#4 leroybrown

leroybrown

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 06 November 2019 - 04:40 AM