•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

So what telescopes do you bino users own?

• Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#1 GrahamDFyffe

GrahamDFyffe

Vostok 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Central Arizona

Posted 08 November 2019 - 10:56 AM

I love my Obie BT100XL's but sometimes I wish I had something with a little more light grasp. Bigger binos of course would be great but I am pretty close to my comfortable weight limit with the Obie's and I suspect that even moving to a 120mm bino setup would be a LOT heavier. 

I currently own an 8" GOTO Evolution Cat and can move that around the yard but frankly the focal length is too long for the clusters that I spend most of my time observing and, ironically (I was a computer engineer) I hate the computerized setup. I have also owned Dobs, none of which I liked both for having to move them around in 2 pieces and I could never get the balance right on the altitude movement.

I was thinking a smaller Newtonian on an alt Az mount but I am thinking that a 6" one (which would meet my weight requirement) won't provide significantly brighter views than my Obie's and an 8" might push me over my weight limit.

So what larger instruments do you guys have ?

#2 salico

salico

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: Germany

Posted 08 November 2019 - 11:06 AM

Hi,

I use a ED120 Binocular Telescope, an 80 LOMO BT, a 12 " Binocular Dobsonian is under construction. The only Mono Scope is a Mewlon 180 C on a HEQ5 simple tracking mount. I fear, the first two get most of the observing time, because they are so easy to use...

#3 Yarddog

Yarddog

Explorer 1

• -----

Posted 08 November 2019 - 11:07 AM