•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

what is it that makes you believe you really do have good optics?

• Please log in to reply
378 replies to this topic

#1 Daniel Mounsey

Daniel Mounsey

Vendor (Woodland Hills)

• Vendors
  • topic starter

Posted 08 November 2019 - 06:34 PM

What's your definition of good? How to you determine that?

If you are one of those observers who is perfectly content and just wants to view the night sky, then this is perfectly fine too.

• Rollo and Dan Williams like this

#2 RadioAstronomer

RadioAstronomer

Mariner 2

• Loc: Tucson, AZ

Posted 08 November 2019 - 06:51 PM

I'm not an expert in optics evaluation here but this is what I look for:

1) Collimation, it has to be spot on. If a refractor is out of collimation I won't bother looking into anything else.

2) No astigmatism present in star test.

3) Minimal amount of spherical aberration. I want the diffraction pattern to look as similar as possible inside and outside of focus, giving special attention to the first outer ring.

My experience tells me that these three criteria by far have the biggest influence on how sharp and "refractor-like" a focused imaged of a planet or luna is going to be. And that's pretty much it. I'm purely a visual observer and I don'r really care about slight amounts o CA in focus. Couldn't care less about CA outside focus as I'm not interested in looking at things out of focus.

Edited by RadioAstronomer, 08 November 2019 - 07:02 PM.

• Astrojensen, Sasa, AndresEsteban and 2 others like this

#3 wrvond

wrvond

Surveyor 1

• Loc: West Virginia

Posted 08 November 2019 - 07:00 PM

If you are one of those observers who is perfectly content and just wants to view the night sky, then this is perfectly fine too.