•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Is it possible to upgrade the focuser in my Meade 8" ACF?

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Ballyhoo

Ballyhoo

Skylab

• topic starter
  • Loc: San Diego

Posted 10 November 2019 - 05:14 PM

I notice when doing imaging it loses focus rather easily.

It is the LXD75 model.

Edited by Ballyhoo, 10 November 2019 - 05:15 PM.

#2 scadvice

scadvice

Surveyor 1

• Vendors
  • Loc: Lodi, California

Posted 10 November 2019 - 05:56 PM

It might be easier to answer if we knew which OTA.. Whoops!  I see you did in the title.ohmy.gif

Sorry, I have no knowledge about that scope...

Edited by scadvice, 10 November 2019 - 06:10 PM.

#3 Jesus Munoz

Jesus Munoz

Messenger

• -----
  • Loc: El Paso, Texas

Posted 10 November 2019 - 10:10 PM

Maybe an external focuser solves your problem.  How often is "rather easily"?

Regards

#4 laixiaolue

laixiaolue

Vostok 1

• Loc: San Jose, CA, USA

Posted 10 November 2019 - 10:42 PM

Did you try the mirror lock?

#5 bbqediguana

bbqediguana

Apollo

• Loc: Canada

Posted 11 November 2019 - 07:11 AM

Did you try the mirror lock?

I don't think the LXD75 has a mirror lock - I think that's just on 10" and higher LX200's.

#6 bbqediguana

bbqediguana

Apollo

Posted 11 November 2019 - 07:19 AM

I notice when doing imaging it loses focus rather easily.

It is the LXD75 model.

Can you describe what you mean by losing focus rather easily? Does this happen visually as well?

The focusing mechanism is pretty simple - the primary mirror slides up and down on the baffle tube - it has a little arm out it's right side (when viewed from behind), and the focuser knob is attached to that arm with essentially a bolt. As you turn the focuser knob, it turns the bolt which moves the mirror like a nut on a bolt.