•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

6” or 5” or Other

• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 2_buckchuck

2_buckchuck

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Florida

Posted 12 November 2019 - 07:07 AM

I’m just getting into the telescope world and have been doing tons of research before buying one. I have narrowed it down to a couple of scopes and would like to know opinions on which one to get. The primary use will be planetary viewing and occasionally some astrophotography. I already have a motorized we mount, albeit a cheap on, that I use for ap with my DSLR and long lens. Here is what I’m looking at:

On sale - https://www.highpoin...etail-91010-xlt

https://www.highpoin...ing-scope-52291

https://www.telescop...s?keyword=127mm

https://www.telescop...s?keyword=102mm

Thanks in advance for any help

#2 Neptune

Neptune

Apollo

• Loc: Georgia

Posted 12 November 2019 - 07:23 AM

No question the Celestron C6-A SCT.

I used a friends C6 once and the images were crisp and bright.  For planets I would really try for 8", but 6" is a good starting point.

• 2_buckchuck likes this

#3 kurbs

kurbs

Explorer 1

• Loc: 60014

Posted 12 November 2019 - 07:24 AM

The small 102 mak is good for planets, but  a step up to the 127 will be noticeable. ,a 5" MAK can be superb for planetary. On planets,  it out does my C6 every time for sharpness and clarity on the solar system. Very sharp. I have both. And I have 2 Meade 5" with UHTC and a Celestron normal coated 127 MAK. My C6 is a XLT.  More aperture, XLT coating, good all around scope for a variety of viewing and some AP.

I sticking mostly with planets I'd go for the 5" MAK. If you want to broaden your horizons, think about the C6. Very capable little SCT.