•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

What key features do you look for when purchasing a refractor?

• Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#1 thelosttrek

thelosttrek

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: San Diego, CA

Posted 14 November 2019 - 12:30 AM

I'm just getting into DSO astrophotography (AP) and I'm trying to figure how you all go about purchasing a new scope. Based on my novice research, I've come up with the following list. The first category is the standard features that you look at based on how you want to use the scope. The second category is the features that set scopes apart from others, which in most cases might help decide about the quality of the scope you're looking for. I am personally looking for two types of scopes up front based on the standard features. One scope to capture larger DSO and another to capture smaller DSO.   

What are some key features that you look for when buying a refractor telescope for AP? Are there others besides what I listed below? Finally, how do you rate these features? Meaning, what makes that feature great, good, ok, and bad?

Standard features:

• Focal Ratio (speed of the telescope; the lower the number the faster you can collect data, but you sacrifice magnification)
  • Aperture (diameter of the objective lens; larger numbers provide better resolution, but less data can be collected)
  • Focal Length (longer focal length the higher the magnification)
  • Customer Service
  • Price

Features that set scopes apart from others:

• Sharpness (are some scopes softer than others?)
  • Glass Type (Ohara FPL-53, Hoya FCD100, fluorite, any others? Is there one better than others for AP?)
  • Optical Design (triplet, doublet, petzval, apochromatic, achromatic. From my understanding, apochromatic triplets are the way to go for AP. Is that correct?)