•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

ZWO ASI 6200 MM PRO initial impressions

• Please log in to reply
139 replies to this topic

#1 andysea

andysea

Soyuz

• topic starter
  • Loc: Seattle, WA

Posted 17 November 2019 - 02:37 PM

Last week I was given the unique opportunity to test the new ZWO ASi 6200 MM PRO camera.

Please understand that I am in no way affiliated with ZWO and I am not paid for this review and these are just my initial findings.

Also I'm not a professional reviewer so please bear with me.

This camera uses the latest 61.2 MP Sony imx455 sensor.

This is an initial review with a description of the camera and accessories along with first impression and some test frames.

I received the camera last week and unfortunately the weather has been bad. Now I’m on a two-week trip in Europe and I won’t be able to actually use the camera under the stars until the first week of December.

The setup came with the camera, the 5x2” filter wheel and a new OAG.

Fit and finish and assembly:

The camera feels very compact and light, like a beefed up ASi1600. It is the usual ZWO red anodized finish .
It attaches to the filter wheel with four screws that are accessible through the carousel itself. You will need an open filter spot for that so either it needs to be done before the filters are installed, or you will need to remove one of the filters.

Connections:

The camera has a 17.5mm backfocus from the front plate and the front connection is M54x1 female threads. In addition to that there are four tapped holes to attach the filter wheel through machine screws.

The filter wheel also has M54 female threads on both faces.

The OAG looks and feels very solid and it has a fine focus mechanism for the guide camera. The clear aperture is about 63mm and it has an M63x1 female threaded connection on the camera side.