•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Setup for Skywatcher EQ6-R PRO with SynScan V5 Controller and USB Ports

• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 magnetar68

magnetar68

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Bay Area, CA, USA

Posted 17 November 2019 - 03:16 PM

First light with my new telescope this weekend. I am new to GOTO mounts and astrophotography with laptops, etc. I think I finally got everything mainly working, but I was going to post my findings in the event another newbie needs guidance (yes, great, the mostly blind leading the blind -- that's the internet for you). 

IMPORTANT NOTE: the newest Skywatcher EQ6-R PRO mounts have a Version 5 Hand Controller (HC) with a USB port and the mount also has a USB port.

• Most of the threads and information on the web refer to setting up the older mounts that require a USB to Serial adapter.
  • I found the Skywatcher website to also be a little confusing due to lack of clarity around the V5 hand controller (even the manual included with the mount does not reference the USB port). 
  • Please be aware that many owners of the the older Skywatcher EQ6-R without the USB ports are not aware of this recent change and while they clearly have good intentions in trying to help with questions, the new mounts are different, so the information provided is not always up-to-date.

This is a picture I stole of the new USB version of the hand controller and mount.  This is how you know you have the newer mount and the V5 hand controller:

SkywatcherEQ6RPRO_USB.jpg

The good news is that this new mount is pretty simple to control from a laptop. This is what I did from a Windows 10 laptop:

1. Installed ASCOM Platform Version 6 (here). 

• This provides the underlying infrastructure for applications like APT and PHD2 to control various types of equipment including the mount.