•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Novice who is lost in a sea of options

EAA
  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 JCH Nature Center

JCH Nature Center

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Southern MN

Posted 18 November 2019 - 10:25 AM

Hi everyone, my name is Kelly and I am extremely new to the whole telescope/astronomy field in general but I have always been interested in it. And I apologize if my type of question has been answered elsewhere, as through my research of this forum I have not found one. I am looking for a camera that will fit my needs of EAA. 

So I recently landed a job that had an observatory that was being neglected and I have been the front runner to getting it into the 21st century.  We now have an 18" Starmaster that we bought used but in great condition (it is 3 years old currently) that has Goto. I have been able to use it fairly easily being a novice myself but what I really want is a way that we can have large groups view what is being seen in the telescope. I am big into community outreach so being able to have either a live feed, or something close-to-live (maybe a constantly updating picture) that not only I can figure out/use but others who are novices as well to telescopes (and astronomy in general) will be able to navigate with a little teaching. This camera will also be advantageous for individuals who cannot make it up the steps to the telescope itself. We also recently got a 5” Celestron NexStar 127SLT (f/12).