•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Tunable Truss Flex Compensation

ATM DIY equipment reflector
  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Roy Diffrient

Roy Diffrient

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Soggy Maryland

Posted 18 November 2019 - 01:04 PM

Hello All,

First post here -- be gentle, still figuring this out.  I'm new to CN but not really a newbie.  Just finally catching up and finding time to do this after spending lots of time on my 28" f/3.6 Newtonian.  Some of you may have previously seen or heard of this telescope -- it was at Stellafane in 2018 and won several awards, including one for the subject capability ( https://stellafane.o...018-scopes.html ).  There is also an article on its truss flex compensation in the current (Fall 2019) issue of Amateur Astronomy magazine ( http://amateurastronomy.com/ ).  I'd like to take the opportunity to briefly describe it and how it works.  The attached drawing will help.

Basically, it does the same thing as a Serrurier truss -- that is, compensate for truss flexure while keeping the optics aligned,  But as implemented it only works for alt-az mounts -- the Serrurier truss of course also works for equatorial mounts.  It uses components that may already be present -- a separate primary mirror cell frame, and the collimation bolts, plus a rectangular aluminum tube in the mirror box -- to generate the compensation.  So it's a simple mechanism with no electronics.  Also, it's there and functioning all the time, without switching it on, just as is truss flexure.