•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

scope recommendation for Daughter

• Please log in to reply
76 replies to this topic

#1 nmanchester

nmanchester

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Rangely, CO

Posted 19 November 2019 - 12:58 PM

I have a 15 year old daughter who is getting into astronomy and is taking classes at school.  Shes asking for a telescope for xmas but wants one she can look at planets and deep space stuff.  I have no knowledge of telescopes other then basic understandings such as focal length, magnification, aperture.  We live in northwest colorado with not a lot of light pollution in town and a short drive into the hills to get away from town so we have great viewing opportunities here.  I can go to the store or order online whatever scope but i want to get her one that will encourage her to continue with the hobby and be able to use for years, and not discourage her do to poor optics and difficulty in using it.  plus i dont want to spend too much with the mindset that she may not stick with it with the hopes she will.  While this is for her i thought it would be great for something that the family could enjoy as well.  So I am asking you guys for your opinion on what you recommend to get to for a good scope that will allow her to get out and enjoy the night skies and as she learns and will beable to grow with the scope without needing to upgrade.  

Thanks

#2 Diana N

Diana N

Ranger 4

• -----
  • Loc: Omaha, Nebraska

Posted 19 November 2019 - 01:05 PM

It's hard to go too far wrong with the AWB OneSky.  It's light, it's portable, it's inexpensive, and it has enough aperture to offer some satisfying views.  https://shop.astrono...ector-telescope  There's a huge thread here on CN where you can learn more about the scope:  https://www.cloudyni...65#entry9768573