•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

6" F3 Mirror and Scope Build

• Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 Aaron_tragle

Aaron_tragle

Viking 1

• topic starter
  • Loc: Richmond, Virginia

Posted 02 December 2019 - 09:57 PM

Hello CN ATMers!

I have been doing visual astronomy since Christmas 2016 when I got my first telescope, a 8" F6 Dobsonian. Now, almost 3 years later (wow, that went by fast) and I am now a senior in high school and looking to the future.

Sadly, I have realized that fitting a 8" solid tube dob in a dorm room is simply impractical, especially alongside my astrophotography rig. I have been wanting to learn about optics for a while now and have even considered as a career path, so with the encouragement of Zane (Augustus) and Logan (lognic04) I have decided to make myself a telescope!

I’ve chosen to build a 6” f/3 for four reasons:

#1. It will be a great visual instrument for viewing large star clusters and hopefully integrated flux nebulae. My planned college is in the mountains with plenty of Bortle 2 and 3 dark sites within a 30 min drive.

#2. The scope can (hopefully) function as an astrograph for both my own personal projects as well as ASASSN supernova work (just got my first supernova confirmation 2 days ago, as a matter of fact!).

#3. As has been shown by Logan, a 6” f/3 should be achievable for a beginner, so I believe I can make this mirror relatively high quality on my first go.

#4. My dorm room is tiny and I need something as compact as possible.

This thread will serve to document the process as well as for me to inevitably ask for advice when there are hurdles I need to jump.

I will continue to post updates as this goes!

Edited by Aaron_tragle, 02 December 2019 - 09:58 PM.

• PrestonE, sink45ny, davidc135 and 3 others like this

#2 Augustus

Augustus

Fly Me To The Moon