•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

ETX 125 users in Minneapolis/ St. Paul ?

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Shakey422

Shakey422

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 04 December 2019 - 12:59 AM

Looking to find folks locally that can share their experience in person.   The forums haven’t always provided answers but nothing like a little hand on to get some experience.  I’m a beginner looking for help with alignment help.  My scope is always just a little off.  Kinda defeats GoTo.  I’ve read all there is to read with no luck.  So if someone out there wants to get together and make me look stupid I’m game.   I live in Chaska my name is Grant.   Shoot me a message.  Appreciate the consideration.

Thank you

Grant

#2 sg6

sg6

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: Norfolk, UK.

Posted 04 December 2019 - 04:12 AM

Many miles and a small ocean away but inaccuracies are usually data and operator related. Have 2 ETX's and know that from direct experience.

As a rule, set your own location, not one of the offered from the Meade list.

Date and Time are easy.

Determine North and Determine Level. - North is not from a compass, so do not use one they are usually a few degrees out.

Level the ETX base by the tripod legs. Again with some accuracy.

Aim the scope OTA North - without anything better use Polaris. If you can put/get/make something to sight along the OTA with that is accurate use that (any good with wood? I made a simple small thin ply+dowel platform to sit a level on the OTA, that helped).

Then it is the 2 star align.

The problem with the ETX125 is simply it is a Mak and a long focal length. You view is narrow.

The software can only assume that your level and North is 100% accurate, so if 1 degree off the first alignment star will be 1 degree off and that is out of view. And that is the problem.